About Reinout van Rees

Nederlands? Zie Over Reinout van Rees.

Most important: since November 2000 I’m happily married to Annie van Rees-Kooiman; we’ve got two kids, Rianne and Floris. We live in Nieuwegein, the Netherlands.

In case you wonder about the meaning of the logo at the top right of the page: Logo explanation / uitleg van het logo. It has to do with my surname.


I’ve studied civil engineering at Delft university of technology. It took me a mighty nine years to finish it, but that wasn’t enough yet: I continued as a PhD and had a mighty good time doing it. See Construction industry + internet + semantic web. I’m allowed to call myself a PhD since January 2007.


After my study, my first work was the above mentioned PhD position at Delft university of technology and the STABU foundation. A big bonus: the first two years I worked full-time on a European research project, which garnered me lots of knowledge and lots of contacts and friends.

During my PhD, I discovered the programming language Python (and the application server Zope): love at first sight. Combined with my internet knowlegde, I got myself a job at Zest software: working with the CMS (content management system) Plone, building websites. I worked nearly four years at Zest.

In March 2009 I started working at The Health Agency. Still Python and Zope (and Grok, but now in the health sector. And with a lot of self-build custom software, so that there’s plenty of scope for a really focused effort to get the software just perfect. I liked the more long-term scope instead of short-term focus.

And since 1 January 2010 I work at Nelen and Schuurmans: back into civil engineering! A water management consultancy company. With a big python/django software focus. So I get to combine my study with my IT knowledge: a lovely combination. And I can cycle to work for a change!

You can find a more formal summary on LinkedIn.

vanrees.org logo

About me

My name is Reinout van Rees and I work a lot with Python (programming language) and Django (website framework). I live in The Netherlands and I'm happily married to Annie van Rees-Kooiman.

Weblog feeds

Most of my website content is in my weblog. You can keep up to date by subscribing to the automatic feeds (for instance with Google reader):